Polaroid #2

I took this photo after feeling defeated because my most recent shots didn’t turn out how I wanted them to. I went out one gloomy afternoon and tried to look for some cool things to shoot. I stumbled on this strange little door, which I think led to a small church. I snapped a picture as soon as I found the spot. Once the picture fully developed I immediately loved it; it turned out great. It had an unsettling, grungy feeling to it. It was exactly what I wanted. Once I got home I looked at all my new pictures for a bit longer, then I put them in my photo album with the rest of my photos. Only recently did I go through all the pictures again and noticed something strange about this particular one. When I was originally admiring it, I completely missed what seems like an obvious detail now. I did finally see it though, and my stomach dropped when I did. My hands began to shake, and I felt panicked. I have no idea what it is, but it’s something unnatural. What or who did I capture on film? And why was it lurking in that spot when I took the picture? I’m afraid to go back and look for answers. I’m afraid to even look at the photo now. I think for now I’ll keep this picture hidden away with the reset of my… “unique” photos…

Leave a comment