Polaroid #1

Recently I bought myself an instant camera. As soon as I received it I began taking pictures of things I thought would make good photos (old buildings, foliage, etc.) and I found that all the photos I took turned out beautifully. I couldn’t stop admiring the colours and the way each photo looked older than it was. I had 4 exposures left in the camera when I decided to test it one night after dark. I expected it to be fine, since the camera had a flash after all, but it seemed like all the pictures I had taken turned out underexposed. I admittedly felt disappointed. Well, that’s until I landed on this photo. Originally this photo was just supposed to be of my partner standing in the middle of an empty lot that was going to be a new condo; there wasn’t much behind him. Some fencing in the distance maybe, and a few piles of bricks/stone, but it was generally pretty barren. At first glance I thought there were just some lights in the background. But that didn’t make sense. There wasn’t anything in the lot that would be so reflective. And the placement of these “lights” were strange to me. After looking at the photo for so long, trying to figure out what was lingering in the background, I began feeling uncomfortable. Anxiety boiled inside me, and I just wanted to get rid of the photo entirely. This is just a scan of the original photo. I ended up cutting the original up and throwing it away. I haven’t been back to that lot since, either. I’m too afraid of what else I might find.

Leave a comment